The railway sector is full of bright ideas, ingenious innovation and bold policy initiatives devised to enhance, grow and strengthen the rail mode today and for the future. The European Railway Award, jointly organised by the Community of European Railway and Infrastructure Companies (CER) and the Association of the European Rail Supply Industry (UNIFE), celebrates these achievements by recognising the inspired individuals behind them.

Nominations for 2020 now open

Click here to find details on how to submit your nomination for the 13th edition of the European Railway Award.

Deadline: 30 June 2019

EURA2020 Logo Transparent


The 12th edition of the European Railway Award took place in Brussels on 20 February 2019.

For more information on this year's edition, click here. Our congratulations once again to our winner, Catherine Trautmann, and thanks to all our guests who made the event a success!



First presented in 2007, the European Railway Award attracts more than 500 guests from all over Europe, including high-level politicians and transport stakeholders.

The award comes with prize money, donated to a charity organisation of the laureate’s choice.
The jury for the European Railway Award consists of railway and rail industry CEOs, EU-level political decision makers, past winners and selected journalists. They consider the nominees and select a winner through a vote.

In previous years, the European Railway Award was divided into a technical category and a political category. These were combined in 2018 to award a single outstanding winner.